WSFCS Magnet School Logo

Congratulations to R.J. Reynolds High School,
 2015 School of Excellence 
Paisley IB Magnet School,
 2015 School of Distinction 
& Latoya Scott (Atkins Academic & Technology HS)
2015 Teacher of the Year - Region IV
for their
Magnet Schools of America Awards
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools is proud to offer 20 magnet schools in grades K-12.
Each magnet school offers a challenging curriculum and the support that students need to expand their horizons.
Students have the opportunity to continue in a magnet program from kindergarten through grade 12.
Welcome to our newest Magnet School
Speas Elementary 
Check out this link  
All elementary, middle and high school applicants
acceptance or waitlist letters have been mailed.
If you applied for a Magnet School, and have not received any notification, 
please call our office @ (336) 727-2519, ext. 4, ASAP 
or email us at
Magnet School Application Period has now ended.
 All late applications will automatically be waitlisted. 
Please visit the Magnet Schools webpage for paper applications in PDF form. 
These can be faxed to (336) 661-4993.
Check out our award-winning Magnet Schools
Proud Member of: 
  MSA 2014
  • National Awardees Announced!


    Magnet Schools of America is proud to announce our 2015 National Merit Awardees, Regional Magnet Principals of the Year, and Regional Magnet Teachers of the Year. 

    National Merit Awards the recipients of our national merit awards is always a highlight of the year for the magnet school community. It is an opportunity for us to acknowledge our nation's most exemplary theme-based magnet programs. These 208 public magnet schools and programs located in 14 states are recognized for their commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, school diversity and integration, specialized teaching staffs, and parent and community engagement.


    Principals and representatives from each of the winning schools will receive a merit award plaque during an awards ceremony held at the 33rd National Conference on Magnet Schools in Raleigh, NC April 22-25, 2015.

    The highest ranked magnet schools in the excellence category are eligible to receive monetary awards and the chance to be named the nation's top Elementary, Secondary, or New & Emerging Magnet School. One of the schools of excellence will also be selected to win $5,000 for the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, which is considered the most prestigious merit award. 


    To review a full list of this year's merit awardees:


    2015 Schools of Excellence

    2015 Schools of Distinction

    Press Release - Merit Awards



    Regional Magnet Teachers of the Year



    We are proud to acknowledge these outstanding magnet educators for their tremendous dedication and talent. They are innovators in the classroom and are being recognized for their capacity to connect with students of all skills and abilities. These teachers have also demonstrated strong leadership within their schools and community.


    Regional Teachers of the Year are selected from MSA's eight regions through a competitive application process. They are all eligible to be chosen as the National Magnet School Teacher of the Year during the national conference in Raleigh, NC. 

    • Latoya Scott, Science Teacher, Atkins Academic & Technology High School, Theme(s): STEM: Majors in Biotechnology, Engineering, Health Science, Game Art Design, and Scientific Visualization, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools, North Carolina - Region IV (NC, SC, KY, TN)

     Check out Mrs. Scott's story here........


    Comments (-1)